Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

CISSP Overview
The Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is the most globally recognized certification in the information security market. CISSP validates an information security professional’s deep technical and managerial knowledge and experience to effectively design, engineer, and manage the overall security posture of an organization.

What You'll Learn
Learn and apply the concepts of security and risk management
Understand security engineering to protect information by exploring and examining security models and frameworks
Learn to identify, categorize, and prioritize assets
Examine and secure network architecture and its components
Learn to identify and control access to protect assets
Design and conduct security assessment strategies, logging, and monitoring activities
Develop a recovery strategy and maintain operational resilience
Learn to secure the software development cycle

Required Experience
Candidates must have a minimum of 5 years cumulative work experience in 2 or more of the 8 domains of the CISSP CBK. Earning a 4-year college degree or regional equivalent or an additional credential from the (ISC)² approved list will satisfy 1 year of the required experience. Education credit will only satisfy 1 year of experience.
A candidate that doesn’t have the required experience to become a CISSP may become an Associate of (ISC)² by successfully passing the CISSP examination. The Associate of (ISC)² will then have 6 years to earn the 5 years required experience.

Additional Resources
• Product Sheet
• Ultimate Guide
• Exam Outline (Effective Apr. 2018)